The mountain sports equipment supplier Petzl calls for the inspection of semi-static ropes from its product range. Customers are asked to check their ropes.

A message from Petzl

One of our customers discovered two defects in new semi-static ropes from Petzl. To date, no other error of this nature has been reported by our customers and we have no information regarding an accident. Please read the information below and check your ropes if necessary.

When unpacking his new AXIS 11 mm ropes from Petzl, one of our customers discovered two errors.

Deep incision on an AXIS 2019 mm rope manufactured in June 11

Petzl semi-static rope Axis

2,10 m long piece of rope that was taped to the end of an AXIS 2019 mm rope manufactured in September 11

Petzl semi-static rope glued together

To date, no other error of this nature has been reported by our customers and we have no information regarding an accident.

Conclusion of an in-depth investigation and risk analysis

  • The two errors occurred on one of our rope cutting machines.
  • The two errors have the same origin.
  • The risk of these two errors occurring is practically zero (only a complex sequence of several independent factors can lead to these two errors).
  • The risk did not exist before March 2018.
  • This risk of error only exists with ropes that have been cut to length with this cutting machine.

We immediately initiated corrective measures to eliminate this problem in the manufacturing process. Our inventories are checked instantly and no further errors of this kind have been identified to date.

Petzl asks you to check semi-static ropes

As a precaution, however, we would like to ask you to immediately list all the semi-static ropes listed below with serial numbers 18 C 0000000 000 < Serial no. <20 H 0000000 000 to check:

  • AXIS 11 mm
  • ASAP'AXIS 11 mm
  • PARALLEL 10.5 mm
  • VECTOR 12.5 mm
  • RAY 12 mm
  • SEGMENT 8 mm
  • CLUB 200 10 mm
  • PUSH 200 9 mm
  • TOP 9.8 mm
  • LEAD 9.8 mm
  • Equipment sets with ropes

This check must be carried out by hand, without gloves, over the entire length of the rope and according to the following procedure (details below).

If you notice a mistake, temporarily remove your rope and contact us You're welcome.

This review, which we ask you to perform, meets certain criteria of the regular in-depth review, which must be carried out at least every 12 months. Should you still have difficulties carrying out this check, please contact us.

We are aware of the difficulties associated with this review call and we apologize for this. The safety of our customers is our top priority and our employees are always available to help you.

We thank you in advance for your understanding and count on you to let us know immediately if you discover an error.

Procedure for the review

As part of the call to check the semi-static ropes, we ask you to observe the following procedure:

  1. Is your semi-static Petzl rope included in the list of Petzl ropes affected by the call for inspection?
    - NO → Your rope is not affected by this call for inspection
    - YES → go to point 2
    - I don't know → as a precaution go to point 2
  2. Find the serial number of your rope:
    You can find the serial number of your rope on the label attached to the rope ends, in the instructions for use and in your PPE directory.
    Example of a serial number: 18 C 01254697 807
    - The serial number of my rope is: YY M xxxxxxx xxx → go to point 3
    - I cannot find the serial number of my rope → go to point 4
  3. Does your semi-static rope have a serial number of 18 C 0000000 000 <serial no. <20 H 0000000 000?
    - YES, the first three characters of the serial number are: 18C, 18D, 18E, 18F, 18G, 18H, 18I, 18J, 18K, 18L, 19A, 19B, 19C, 19D, 19E, 19F, 19G, 19H, 19I, 19J , 19K, 19L, 20A, 20B, 20C, 20D, 20E, 20F, 20G
    → Your rope is affected by this call for inspection → go to point 4
    - NO (example: 18 B 9999999 999) → Your rope is not affected by this call for checking
  4. Is your rope new and has never been used?
    - NO (it has already been used) → go to point 5
    - YES → go to point 6
  5. Has your rope been used or checked in accordance with one of the cases described below?
    - Installation of the rope by tunneling by hand, without gloves and over the entire length of the rope,
    - open the rope by hand, without gloves and over the entire length of the rope,
    - Incoming already carried out Check the entire rope length.
  6. Is there a green dot on the box of the new rope?
    - NO → it has not yet been checked → go to point 7
    - YES → Your rope has already been checked by a specialist and you do not have to check it again
  7. Check the entire length of your rope by hand, without gloves.

Only manufacturing defects (1) and (2) described below are affected by this call for review. If you find an error affected by this check, please note the number of the affected rope, but temporarily remove it and Contact us..

Corde entailléedefaut scotch
(1) Manufacturing defects affected by this review(2) Manufacturing defects affected by this review

Note: If you find any signs of wear or damage during this check according to the criteria of the PSA test sheet, you will find out your rope.

corde uséecorde usée
Two examples of signs of wear on the rope => discard the product

8. After review of the rope register the result please on: Registration of my rope inspection.

9. If you have problems or difficulty checking your rope, please contact us.

Frequently asked questions about the call for review

1 - When and how did you discover this problem?

When unpacking his new AXIS 11 mm ropes from Petzl, one of our customers discovered two errors:

  • a deep cut on an AXIS 2019 mm rope manufactured in June 11,
  • a 2,10m piece of rope that was taped to the end of an AXIS 2019mm rope made in September 11.

2 - Did accidents occur with a damaged rope?

To date, no other error of this nature has been reported by our customers and we have no information regarding an accident.

3 - How do you explain this problem?

After an in-depth investigation and risk analysis, we came to the following conclusion:

  • The two errors must have occurred on one of our rope cutting machines.
  • Only the standard commercial machine purchased and put into operation in March 2018 is affected by this risk of error.
  • Both error risks can be traced back to the same origin (man / machine).
  • The risk of these two errors occurring is practically zero (only a complex sequence of 9 independent human / machine factors can lead to one or the other of these two errors).

4 - Why are the ropes manufactured before March 2018 not affected?

In March 2018 we bought a new standard machine for measuring / cutting ropes and put it into operation. We have found that with this new machine, due to a complex sequence of 9 independent human / machine factors, there is a risk of causing an error.

5 - What is the probability that my rope has one of these errors?

The risk of these two errors occurring is practically zero (only a complex sequence of 9 independent human / machine factors can lead to one or the other of these two errors). The likelihood of the machine malfunctioning is very low, but given the severity of the possible injuries, a thorough inspection of each potentially affected rope is required.
Corrective measures to eliminate this risk of error were initiated immediately and our inventories are currently being checked. To date, no other error of this type has been found.

6 - Why weren't these two manufacturing defects discovered earlier?

The probability of these two errors occurring is extremely low and is practically zero, since only a complex sequence of 9 independent human / machine factors can lead to one or the other of these two errors.

7 - Do I have to check my rope?

Yes, unless you meet one of the exceptions listed in the How to Review document (details above).

8 - Do I have to check my ropes again if I checked them before using them for the first time or during a regular PSA check?

If you checked your rope before using it for the first time or during the regular PSA inspection, you would have already identified the errors affected by this call for inspection. In this case, you are not obliged to follow the call and to check it again. To pursue this measure, however, we would ask you to let us know Registration of my rope inspection.

9 - Can I carry out this check even if I have not completed any training to check PSA?

Any person of legal age who can handle a rope can carry out this check. The procedure shows you how this check is carried out.

10 - I don't know how to check my rope or I'm not sure?

Read the procedure and contact us if necessary.

11 - How do I check my rope?

Since the error can be felt easily, the check must be carried out by hand, without gloves, over the entire length of the rope and according to the following procedure.

12 - Is my semi-static Petzl rope affected by this call for inspection?

The semi-static ropes with serial numbers 2018 C 18 0000000 <serial number <000 H 20 0000000 listed since March 000 are affected by this message.

Affected ropes:

  • AXIS 11 mm
  • ASAP'AXIS 11 mm
  • PARALLEL 10.5 mm
  • VECTOR 12.5 mm
  • RAY 12 mm
  • SEGMENT 8 mm
  • CLUB 200 10 mm
  • PUSH 200 9 mm
  • TOP 9.8 mm
  • LEAD 9.8 mm (dynamic rope)
  • Equipment sets with ropes

Note: Ropes manufactured before March 2018 are not affected by this call for inspection.

13 - Is my Petzl dynamic rope affected by this call for verification?

No, the dynamic ropes are not affected by this check because they are cut by another machine that does not have this risk of errors.
The LEAD 9.8 mm is the only dynamic rope affected by this call for inspection because it was cut with the machine that was at risk of error.
Note: The LEAD 9.8 mm rope is only intended for operators of climbing halls.

14 - My rope is part of an equipment set; do I have to control the entire set?

No, this call for inspection only affects the rope of your set. You can of course use this control to check the complete set.
As a reminder: You must carry out a thorough check of your PPE (personal protective equipment) at least every 12 months.

15 - Has the JAG SYSTEM rope been affected by this call for inspection?

No, the rope of the JAG SYSTEM is not affected by this check because it is cut by another machine that does not have this risk of error. The AXIS rope contained in the JAG RESCUE KIT, however, is affected by this call for inspection.

16 - How can I find out the serial number of my rope?

All of our products have a name and an individual product number.
The name and serial number are on the label on each end of the rope.

If you no longer have the serial number, we would like to ask you to carry out this check as a precaution. Further information can be found in the instructions for use supplied with the rope and available on Petzl.com.

17 - I want to buy a new semi-static rope. How can you guarantee me that the ropes available on the market are compliant?

After finding the error, Petzl corrected the cutting machine for the semi-static ropes, checked the entire inventory and asked all sales partners to also check their inventory and forward the call for inspection to their customers.
Our customers / sales partners are trustworthy, competent specialists who check their own stocks. However, we cannot guarantee that all the ropes stored by our sales partners have already been checked in accordance with our call by the time you visit one of the specialist shops.
We therefore strongly advise you to check your new rope as a precautionary measure before using it for the first time.

18 - I found a green dot on the packaging of my rope. What does that mean?

All ropes manufactured between March 2018 and July 2020 that have already been checked by Petzl or a specialist company must be marked with a green dot on the packaging.
Since the safety of the production machine is now guaranteed, no green dots will be stuck on the packaging from August 1, 2020 (serial number> 20H xxxx).

19 - What do I do with my rope if I find a manufacturing defect?

If your rope has a manufacturing defect, temporarily discard it and please contact us.

20 - I am currently in a country where there is no Petzl distributor. Whom can I contact?

Contact us.

21 - Is the cable of my GRILLON lanyard affected by this call for inspection?

No, the GRILLON lanyard rope is not affected by this check because it is cut by another machine that does not present this risk of failure.

22 - What sets of equipment are affected by this review call?

All equipment sets that contain a semi-static rope listed in the call for inspection are affected by this call.

23 - Are the PUSH and CLUB ropes affected by this call for inspection?

Only the PUSH and CLUB ropes with a length of 200 meters are affected by this call. Ropes in shorter lengths are not affected by the call because they are cut by another machine that does not have this risk of errors.

Do you like our climbing magazine? When we launched LACRUX, we decided not to introduce a payment barrier. It will stay that way, because we want to provide as many like-minded people with news from the climbing scene.

In order to be more independent of advertising revenue in the future and to provide you with even more and better content, we need your support.

Therefore: Help and support our magazine with a small contribution. Naturally you benefit multiple times. How? You will find out here.

That might interest you

+ + +
Credits: Picture and text zVg

Climbing