The Austrian alpinists David Lama and Hansjörg Auer, who had been fatally injured in April, were honored for their solo tours of Lunag Ri and Lupghar Sar, respectively.

As part of the Ladek Mountain Festival, the Piolets d'Or, or the Oscars of alpinism, are awarded in September. The two Austrians are among the honored alpinists David Lama and Hansjörg Auerwho tragically died in April of this year (LACRUX reported). The awards are presented to their survivors.

Solo first ascent of Lunag Ri by David Lama

David Lama will be for his Solo first ascent on Lunag Ri awarded him in the fall 2018 after several attempts.

Hansjörg Auer manages the solo ascent of the western wall of the Lupghar Sar

Hansjörg Auer For his part, he is honored for his solo ascent of Lupghar Sar in Pakistan, which succeeded him in July 2018.

Another award for Aleš Česen, Luka Stražar and Tom Livingstone

Another Piolet d'Or went to the two Slovenes Aleš Česen, Luka Stražar and the British Tom Livingstone for their ascent of Latok I from the north side.

Picture Sergey Glazunov / American Alpine Journal

That might interest you

+ + +
Credits: Cover Picture Piotr Kaleta / Gory Magazine

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.