Alexander Rohr manages the second ascent of Alpenbitter (9a) at Gimmelwald

The Bernese Alexander Rohr repeated just a few days ago one of the hardest sport climbing routes in Switzerland: Alpenbitter (9a) at Gimmeldwald in the Bernese Oberland.

Already at the beginning of the year Alex was very busy (LACRUX reported). He scored in the Spanish Oliana Rollito Ninja (8c) in just four tries. Also the 8c + Duels la realidad he ticked off in a few attempts. “The typical routes in Oliana have always been a nightmare for me. During my trip at the beginning of the year, however, I noticed that the long and sustained tours are quite good for me. At the same time, I've made progress in training and since then I've been able to recover better from poor resting positions, ”explains us Alex, So the time was right, the route Alpenbitter (9a) to try at Gimmelwald.

Alexander Rohr in the strongly overhanging route Alpenbitter near Gimmelwald
Alexander Rohr in the strongly overhanging route Alpenbitter near Gimmelwald (picture Marco Müller)

Alpenbitter - since 2007 without repetition

The route Alpenbitter (9a) is located in the Gimmelwald sport climbing area in Bern and was first climbed by Simon Wandeler in 2007. Since then it has been tried a few times but never repeated. A few grips have broken out since then and in the crux the grip in the middle of the boulder got smaller. “The first meters of climbing are relatively pleasant. But the higher you climb, the harder it gets. The crowning glory is a bouldering area at a height of 12 meters ” Alex the route and continues: “Up to the boulder there is no resting point and you climb into the bouldering area with full speed. The boulder has five pulls, some of them wide, on bad pliers with a very powerful character. ”The recipe for success for Alex was to climb through the first part as quickly and precisely as possible to have enough power for the moves in the Crux.

Display Ads Rectangle_Trailrunning
Falling out just before the stand, that stinks!
Just drop out before the booth, it stinks! - Picture Rosamunde Pare

Got through in total flow

Alex designed the route for three days and dropped out of the route on his last attempt just before the stand. Despite the lack of boarding was Alex convinced that the red point ascent will work. So he soon returned to make short work of it. But it didn't work out that fast. “The pressure was great and I was too sure that I would just climb it. The whole thing ended in disaster and it took me two failed attempts and three tight attempts. Slowly but surely I got nervous because I knew that the strength would not be enough for an infinite number of attempts. With complete tunnel vision, a strong head and tired enough to pull myself together, I started the last attempt. A classic flow set in. It was only up at the booth that I noticed how tired I was because I couldn't scream and gasp, ”says Alex enthusiastically. Alpenbitter (9a) was spotted and had a second ascent.

The more pressure, the less success

Who Alex told us, was the boarding of Alpenbitter one of the most special experiences of his climbing career so far. “I put myself under very often, very much pressure. Most of the time it goes wrong, ”he explains. at Alpenbitter but it was different and he learned a lot. "I have realized that with more emotions around the planning of a route, there is a multiple of satisfaction when you score it," says Alex with a wink. “If a route works too fast, it's boring for me, if it goes too long, it's a disaster. At Alpenbitter it was the perfect mix! "

Credits: Title picture Rosamunde Pare

News

Glacier death: Alpine Association measures the greatest loss in length at Pasterze since measurements began

The ÖAV's annual glacier report shows: 92 of 93 glaciers in Austria retreated, the Pasterze by 203,5 meters.

Boulder gold No. 16: Janja Garnbret wins the start of the World Cup season

What a start to the season: Janja Garnbret secured another gold medal at the Boulder World Cup in Keqiao.
00:33:56

Bon Voyage E12 (9a): This is behind Adam Ondra's ascent

With Bon Voyage, Adam Ondra has secured the first repetition of the most difficult trad route in the world. Now there's the video for the broadcast.

TV tip: Portrait of climbing legend Beat Kammerlander

Tonight, 20:15 p.m. on Servus TV: Bergwelten portrays the exceptional Vorarlberg talent Beat Kammerlander.

Newsletter

Subscribe to our newsletter now and stay up to date.

Glacier death: Alpine Association measures the greatest loss in length at Pasterze since measurements began

The ÖAV's annual glacier report shows: 92 of 93 glaciers in Austria retreated, the Pasterze by 203,5 meters.

Boulder gold No. 16: Janja Garnbret wins the start of the World Cup season

What a start to the season: Janja Garnbret secured another gold medal at the Boulder World Cup in Keqiao.
00:33:56

Bon Voyage E12 (9a): This is behind Adam Ondra's ascent

With Bon Voyage, Adam Ondra has secured the first repetition of the most difficult trad route in the world. Now there's the video for the broadcast.

Comment on the article

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Der Berner Alexander Rohr wiederholte vor wenigen Tagen eine der schwersten Sportkletterrouten der Schweiz: Alpenbitter (9a) bei Gimmeldwald im Berner Oberland.

Bereits Anfang Jahr war Alex stark unterwegs (LACRUX berichtete). Im spanischen Oliana punktete er Rollito Ninja (8c) in lediglich vier Versuchen. Auch die 8c+ Duele la realidad hakte er in wenigen Versuchen ab. “Die typischen Routen in Oliana waren immer ein Albtraum für mich. Bei meinem Trip Anfang Jahr habe ich aber gemerkt, dass mir die langen und anhaltenden Touren doch ganz gut liegen. Parallel dazu habe ich Fortschritte im Training gemacht und kann mich seither besser an schlechten Ruhepositionen erholen”, erklärt uns Alex. Die Zeit war also reif, die Route Alpenbitter (9a) bei Gimmelwald zu probieren.

Alexander Rohr in der stark überhängenden Route Alpenbitter bei Gimmelwald
Alexander Rohr in der stark überhängenden Route Alpenbitter bei Gimmelwald (Bild Marco Müller)

Alpenbitter – seit 2007 ohne Wiederholung

Die Route Alpenbitter (9a) liegt im Berner Sportklettergebiet Gimmelwald und wurde 2007 von Simon Wandeler erstbegangen. Seither wurde sie ein einige Male probiert, aber nie wiederholt. Ein paar Griffe sind seither ausgebrochen und in der Crux wurde der Griff mitten im Boulder kleiner. “Die ersten Klettermeter sind relativ angenehm. Je höher man aber klettert, desto schwerer wird es. Die Krönung ist eine Boulderstelle in 12 Metern Höhe” beschreibt Alex die Route und setzt fort: “Bis zum Boulder hat es keinen Ruhepunkt und man klettert voll Karacho in die Boulderstelle rein. Der Boulder hat fünf teils weite Züge an schlechten Zangen mit sehr kräftigen Charakter.” Das Erfolgsrezept für Alex war es, möglichst schnell und präzise durch den ersten Teil zu klettern, um genügend Kraft für die Züge in der Crux zu haben.

Kurz vor dem Stand rausfallen, das stinkt!
Kurz vor dem Stand rausfallen, das stinkt! – Bild Rosamunde Pare

Im totalen Flow durchgestiegen

Alex projektierte die Route während drei Tagen und fiel bei seinem letzten Versuch knapp vor dem Stand aus der Route. Trotz des fehlenden Durchstiegs war Alex überzeugt, dass es mit der Rotpunktbegehung klappen wird. So kehrte er bald wieder zurück, um kurzen Prozess zu machen. Ganz so schnell klappte es dann aber doch nicht. “Der Druck war gross und ich war mir zu sicher, dass ich sie einfach klettern werde. Das Ganze endete in einer Katastrophe und ich brauchte zwei Fehlversuche und drei knappe Versuche. Langsam aber sicher wurde ich nervös, weil ich wusste, dass die Kraft nicht für unendlich viele Versuche reicht. Mit komplettem Tunnelblick, starkem Kopf und müde genug, um mich zusammenzureissen, setzte ich zum letzten Versuch an. Ein klassischer Flow setzte ein. Erst oben am Stand habe ich gemerkt, wie müde ich eigentlich war, da ich nicht mehr viel Geschrei rausbrachte und nur noch nach Luft jappste”, erzählt Alex begeistert. Alpenbitter (9a) war gepunktet und hatte eine zweite Begehung.

Je mehr Druck, desto weniger Erfolg

Wie Alex uns erzählt, war der Durchstieg von Alpenbitter eines der speziellsten Erlebnisse seiner bisherigen Kletterkarriere. “Ich setze mich sehr oft, sehr stark unter Druck. Meist geht das dann in die Hosen”, erklärt er. Bei Alpenbitter sei es aber anders gewesen und er habe viel dazugelernt. “Ich habe realisiert, dass mit mehr Emotionen rund um das Projektieren einer Route auch ein Vielfaches an Zufriedenheit einkehrt, wenn man sie dann punktet”, sagt Alex mit einem Augenzwinkern. “Wenn eine Route zu schnell klappt, ist es für mich langweilig, wenn es zu lange geht, ein Super-Gau. Bei Alpenbitter war es die perfekte Mischung!”

Credits: Titelbild Rosamunde Pare

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

*

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.