Garnbret and Anraku consistently strong, Schubert upping the ante in the lead: results of semi-finals combined format

Sorato Anraku and Janja Garnbret march straight through the combined semifinals towards the Olympic ticket. Others didn't deliver in bouldering and needed a lot of points in the lead. Jakob Schubert and Brooke Raboutou coped very well with this pressure.

The news about the 2023 World Cup will be presented by Unparallel, Petzl and Bächli Bergsport

The prospect of an Olympic ticket drove the 20 or 21 strongest climbers to give their all again in the middle of the second half of the week. The individual disciplines of the past week have left certain marks - for some more, for others less.

Anraku and Garnbret ahead

The Japanese youngster was still strong Sorato Anraku. He not only finished the bouldering discipline as the best, but also shone in the lead in the evening with one of the few tops. If he can maintain his consistency, the 16-year-old is definitely a hot contender for gold in the combination.

Its counterpart in women is Janja Garnbret. She also finished the bouldering semifinals in 1st place. She was the only one to top all four boulders - albeit not quite as easy as in the individual discipline. In between, you realize that Janja the GOAT Garnbret is "only" human. In the lead semi-final in the evening, she already had her ticket to the final by the time she started. Of course, the strong Slovenian didn't know that and fought her way almost to the top.

Unparallel Souped Up:
Highly functional climbing shoe for bombproof toe hooks

The Souped Up by Unparallel is a highly functional climbing shoe with a strong downturn for maximum precision. The Souped Up has a two-part sole design and combines different rubber compounds. This construction ensures rigidity and precise power transmission. Are you ready for climbing?

The young Briton qualified for the men Toby Roberts second for the combined final. He showed a solid performance in bouldering and confidently delivered in his favorite discipline lead with a top. Similar to the third place Colin Duffy. The young American excelled in both disciplines and was able to hold his position in the classification until the end.

That was an incredible feeling. After some results that didn't go so well, it's nice to be in front of this huge crowd tonight and put up a really good fight on a nice route.

Toby Roberts

Others had a more difficult starting position. For example, the five-time world champion Jakob Schubert. He ended up third to last in bouldering and knew that something really big had to happen in the lead. But Schubert wouldn't be Schubert if he couldn't deliver to the point under pressure. And so the freshly crowned world champion fought his way to the top and back into the race for the coveted Olympic ticket.

Couldn't quite call up his performance when bouldering and was accordingly required in the lead. Yannick Flohe. Image: Lena Drapella
Couldn't quite call up his performance when bouldering and was accordingly required in the lead. Yannick Flohe. Image: Lena Drapella

Below expectations

The catch-up race for the two Germans in the lead was less successful Alex Megos and Yannick Flohe, at the Swiss Sascha Lehmann or at the Austrian Nicolai Uznik. They weren't quite convincing in the bouldering semifinals and needed a lot of points in the lead. Unfortunately, the endurance-heavy route fended off one after the other and so the big combined final - apart from Schubert - had to take place without German-speaking athletes.

Lead World Champion as the only one at the top

The newly crowned lead world champion shone in the women's category Ai Mori again in the lead. She was the only one to reach the top. Oriane Bertone started with a good cushion from bouldering in the lead semi-final and got her ticket to the final without any problems. The American had to tremble more Brooke Raboutou, who was third in bouldering, but with a clear point deficit. However, she didn't let anything get in the way and was one of the few athletes to make it past the 60 mark.

Where many others dropped, the strong American Brooke Raboutou moved on. Image: Lena Drapella
Where many others dropped, the strong American Brooke Raboutou moved on. Image: Lena Drapella

This transition to the last section of the 15-meter wall was the key point for the women. Many athletes fell out at this very exhausting point. So too Jessica mushroom, who nevertheless qualified for the final thanks to a solid result in bouldering. Natalia Grossman narrowly missed out on an Olympic ticket as she finished ninth.

I'm looking forward to the final. That was one of my big goals and I can't wait to get started.

Jessica mushroom

hirundos:
Light, comfortable harness for performance-oriented climbing

The Hirundos is intended for athletic climbers for indoor and rock climbing. The narrow, light strap ensures maximum freedom of movement and is comfortable even when hanging freely. The four gear loops offer space for all the necessary equipment and the reinforced rope eyes permanently protect against rope abrasion.

Ranking combined semi-finals women

1Janja THREAD175
2Hey MORI136.9
3Oriana BERTONE133.5
4Brooke RABOUTOU122.1
5Miho NONAKA108
6Jessica MUSHROOM98.5
7Anastasia SANDERS92.5
8Jain KIM91.1
9Natalia Grossman88.5
10Chaehyun SEO86.4
11Manon HILY82.3
12Molly THOMPSON SMITH78.7
13HELENE JANICOT73.6
14Mia KRAMPL73.6
15Zelia AVEZOU73.3
16Oceania MACKENZIE71
17CV LUKAN65.5
18Ayala KEREM53.8
19Yejoo SEO53
20Kyra CONDIE45.5
21Laura ROGORA32.9

Ranking combined semi-finals men

1Sorato ANRAKU184.9
2Toby ROBERTS164.7
3Colin DUFFY157
4Tomoa NARASAKI148.7
5Jacob SCHUBERT144.8
6Adam ONDRA144.1
7Dohyun LEE129.7
8Paul Jenft126.3
9Mejdi SCHALCK125.9
10Oh YURIKUSA121.6
11Sean BAILEY111.5
12Yannick FLOHE109.9
13Alexander MEGOS106.9
14Michael MAWEM105.6
15Sasha LEHMANN101.2
16Meichi NARASAKI97.8
17Yoshiyuki OGATA92.8
18Nicolai UZNIK91.6
19Yunchan SONG91.2
20Sam AVEZOU82.7

That might interest you

Content partner Climbing World Championship 2023

The coverage of the Climbing World Championships 2023 in Bern is presented by Unparallel, Petzl and Bächli Bergsport:

Maximum grip, well thought-out designs and "hand-made in California": The brand "unparallel» not only convinces with many years of experience in the production of climbing shoes, but also relies on a sustainable philosophy - as well as on a selection of specially developed rubber compounds that are exclusively processed by long-standing, local partners.

Our Company has been managed for 50 years on the basis of four pillars: The stability of our family business, the promotion of the pioneering spirit for the development of first-class solutions, the guarantee of industrial excellence with a zero-defect goal and the close cooperation with the people of our communities with whom we share globally proven techniques for more security.

We love the mountains and live for the mountains. As the biggest Swiss specialist for mountaineering we offer a uniquely wide and high-quality range for all alpine sports. With us, thoroughbred mountaineers, mountain enthusiasts and beginners will find a wide range of equipment in our branches with main shop and outlet or online at the fairest price.

Do you like our climbing magazine? When we launched LACRUX, we decided not to introduce a payment barrier. It will stay that way, because we want to provide as many like-minded people with news from the climbing scene.

In order to be more independent of advertising revenue in the future and to provide you with even more and better content, we need your support.

Therefore: Help and support our magazine with a small contribution. Naturally you benefit multiple times. How? You will find out here.

Don't miss anything - receive our newsletter

* Indicates required
Interests

+ + +

Credits: Cover picture

News

Training despite an annular ligament injury

Ring ligament injury: In this video, Dave MacLeod explains what an adapted training session on the bouldering wall can look like.

Ondra during the 9a onsight attempt: final stop for grip breakout

This video shows Adam Ondra making a solid 9a onsight attempt. But when the handle breaks, it comes to an abrupt end.

Spanish Kinglines repeated

Jorg Verhoeven, Gabriele Moroni and Leo Ketil Bøe repeat classics of the 9th French degree in Siurana, Oliana and Margalef.

5th Petzl Climbing Festival Frankenjura 2024 | Info & program

Save the Date: from May 30th to June 2nd, 2024, the Frankenjura climbing festival is going into its fifth round in idyllic Königstein.

Newsletter

Subscribe to our newsletter now and stay up to date.

Training despite an annular ligament injury

Ring ligament injury: In this video, Dave MacLeod explains what an adapted training session on the bouldering wall can look like.

Ondra during the 9a onsight attempt: final stop for grip breakout

This video shows Adam Ondra making a solid 9a onsight attempt. But when the handle breaks, it comes to an abrupt end.

Spanish Kinglines repeated

Jorg Verhoeven, Gabriele Moroni and Leo Ketil Bøe repeat classics of the 9th French degree in Siurana, Oliana and Margalef.

Garnbret und Anraku konstant stark, Schubert dreht im Lead auf: Resultate Halbfinals kombiniertes Format

Sorato Anraku und Janja Garnbret marschieren direkt durchs kombinierte Halbfinale Richtung Olympia-Ticket. Andere lieferten im Bouldern nicht ab und brauchten im Lead zwingend viele Punkte. Mit diesem Druck bestens zurecht kamen Jakob Schubert oder auch Brooke Raboutou.

Die News rund um die WM 2023 werden präsentiert von Unparallel, Petzl und Bächli Bergsport

Die Aussicht auf ein Olympiaticket hat die 20, respektive 21 stärksten Kletterinnen und Kletterer angetrieben, auch Mitte der zweiten Wochenhälfte nochmals alles aus sich herauszuholen. Die Einzeldisziplinen der vergangenen Woche haben gewisse Spuren hinterlassen – bei manchen mehr, bei anderen weniger.

Anraku und Garnbret vorne weg

Immer noch sackstark unterwegs war der japanische Youngster Sorato Anraku. Er schloss nicht nur die Disziplin Bouldern als bester ab, sondern glänzte auch beim Lead am Abend mit einem der wenigen Tops. Kann er seine Konstanz beibehalten, so ist der 16-Jährige definitiv ein heisser Anwärter auf Gold in der Kombination.

Sein Pendant bei den Frauen ist Janja Garnbret. Auch sie schloss das Boulder-Halbfinale auf Platz 1. Als einzige toppte sie alle vier Boulder – wenn auch nicht mehr ganz so easy wie in der Einzeldisziplin. Zwischendurch, da wird einem bewusst, dass auch Janja the GOAT Garnbret «nur» ein Mensch ist. Im Lead-Halbfinale am Abend hatte sie zum Startzeitpunkt das Finalticket bereits auf sicher. Das wusste die starke Slowenin natürlich nicht und kämpft sich fast bis zum Top.

Unparallel Souped Up:
Hochfunktionaler Kletterschuh für bombenfeste Toe-Hooks

Beim Souped Up von Unparallel handelt es sich um einen hochfunktionalen Kletterschuh mit starkem Downturn für maximale Präzision. Der Souped Up hat ein zweiteiliges Sohlendesign und kombiniert unterschiedliche Gummimischungen. Diese Konstruktion sorgt für Steifigkeit und präzise Kraftübertragung. Bist du ready fürs Klettern?

Bei den Männern qualifizierte sich der junge Brite Toby Roberts als zweiter fürs Kombi-Finale. Er zeigte beim Bouldern eine solide Leistung und lieferte in seiner Paradedisziplin Lead mit einem Top souverän ab. Ähnlich der drittplatzierte Colin Duffy. Der junge Amerikaner glänzte in beiden Disziplinen und konnte so seine Position in der Wertung bis zum Schluss halten.

Das war ein unglaubliches Gefühl. Nach einigen Ergebnissen, die nicht so gut gelaufen sind, ist es schön, heute Abend vor diesem riesigen Publikum zu stehen und einen wirklich guten Kampf auf einer schönen Route zu liefern.

Toby Roberts

Andere hatten da eine schwierigere Ausgangslage. So beispielsweise der fünffache Weltmeister Jakob Schubert. Er landet beim Bouldern auf dem drittletzten Platz und wusste: Im Lead muss was ganz Grosses her. Aber Schubert wäre nicht Schubert, wenn er nicht unter Druck auf den Punkt abliefern könnte. Und so kämpfte sich der frisch gebackene Weltmeister bis ans Top und damit zurück ins Rennen um das begehrte Olympiaticket.

Konnte beim Bouldern seine Leistung nicht ganz abrufen und war entsprechend im Lead gefordert. Yannick Flohé. Bild: Lena Drapella
Konnte beim Bouldern seine Leistung nicht ganz abrufen und war entsprechend im Lead gefordert. Yannick Flohé. Bild: Lena Drapella

Unter den Erwartungen geblieben

Weniger erfolgreich war die Aufholjagd im Lead bei den beiden Deutschen Alex Megos und Yannick Flohé, beim Schweizer Sascha Lehmann oder beim Österreicher Nicolai Uznik. Sie alle vermochten im Boulder-Halbfinale nicht ganz zu überzeugten und benötigten im Lead entsprechend viele Punkte. Leider wehrte die ausdauerlastige Route einen nach dem anderen ab und so muss das grosse Kombi-Finale – abgesehen von Schubert – ohne deutschsprachige Athleten vonstatten gehen.

Lead-Weltmeisterin als einzige am Top

Bei den Frauen brillierte die frische gebackene Lead-Weltmeisterin Ai Mori wiederum im Lead. Als einzige erreichte sie das Top. Oriane Bertone startete mit einem guten Polster aus dem Bouldern ins Lead-Halbfinale und brachte ihr Finalticket problemlos ins Trockene. Mehr zittern musste da die Amerikanerin Brooke Raboutou, die beim Bouldern zwar dritte wurde, jedoch mit deutlichem Punktrückstand. Sie liess jedoch nichts anbrennen und schaffte es als eine der wenigen Athletinnen über die 60er-Marke hinaus.

Wo viel andere abtropften, zog die starke Amerikanerin Brooke Raboutou weiter. Bild: Lena Drapella
Wo viel andere abtropften, zog die starke Amerikanerin Brooke Raboutou weiter. Bild: Lena Drapella

Dieser Übergang ins den letzten Abschnitt der 15-Meter-Wand stellte bei den Frauen die grosse Schlüsselstelle dar. Viele Athleten fielen an dieser sehr kräfteraubenden Stelle raus. So auch Jessica Pilz, die sich jedoch dank einem soliden Resultat im Bouldern trotzdem fürs Finale qualifiziert. Natalia Grossman verpasste die Chance auf ein Olympiaticket als neuntplatzierte knapp.

Ich freue mich aufs Finale. Das war eines meiner grossen Ziele und ich kann es kaum erwarten, loszulegen.

Jessica Pilz

Hirundos:
Leichter, komfortabler Gurt zum leistungsorientierten Klettern

Petzl-Klettergurt-Hirundos

Der Hirundos ist für athletische Kletterer zum Hallen- und Felsklettern bestimmt. Der schmale, leichte Gurt gewährleistet maximale Bewegungsfreiheit und ist auch beim freien Hängen komfortabel. Die vier Materialschlaufen bieten Platz für alle benötigten Ausrüstungsgegenstände und die verstärkten Anseilösen schützen dauerhaft vor Seilabrieb.

Rangliste kombiniertes Halbfinale Frauen

1Janja GARNBRET175
2Ai MORI136.9
3Oriane BERTONE133.5
4Brooke RABOUTOU122.1
5Miho NONAKA108
6Jessica PILZ98.5
7Anastasia SANDERS92.5
8Jain KIM91.1
9Natalia GROSSMAN88.5
10Chaehyun SEO86.4
11Manon HILY82.3
12Molly THOMPSON-SMITH78.7
13Hélène JANICOT73.6
14Mia KRAMPL73.6
15Zélia AVEZOU73.3
16Oceania MACKENZIE71
17Vita LUKAN65.5
18Ayala KEREM53.8
19Yejoo SEO53
20Kyra CONDIE45.5
21Laura ROGORA32.9

Rangliste kombiniertes Halbfinale Männer

1Sorato ANRAKU184.9
2Toby ROBERTS164.7
3Colin DUFFY157
4Tomoa NARASAKI148.7
5Jakob SCHUBERT144.8
6Adam ONDRA144.1
7Dohyun LEE129.7
8Paul JENFT126.3
9Mejdi SCHALCK125.9
10Ao YURIKUSA121.6
11Sean BAILEY111.5
12Yannick FLOHÉ109.9
13Alexander MEGOS106.9
14Mickael MAWEM105.6
15Sascha LEHMANN101.2
16Meichi NARASAKI97.8
17Yoshiyuki OGATA92.8
18Nicolai UZNIK91.6
19Yunchan SONG91.2
20Sam AVEZOU82.7

Das könnte dich interessieren

Content-Partner Kletterweltmeisterschaft 2023

Die Berichterstattung rund um die Kletterweltmeisterschaft 2023 in Bern wird präsentiert von Unparallel, Petzl und Bächli Bergsport:

Maximaler Grip, durchdachte Designs und «hand-made in California»: Die Marke «Unparallel» überzeugt nicht nur mit jahrelanger Erfahrung in der Herstellung von Kletterschuhen, sondern setzt gleichzeitig auf eine nachhaltige Philosophie – sowie auf eine Auswahl an eigens entwickelten Gummimischungen, die von langjährigen, lokalen Partnern exklusiv verarbeitet werden.

Unser Unternehmen wird seit 50 Jahren auf der Basis von vier Grundpfeilern geführt: Die Stabilität unseres Familienunternehmens, die Förderung des Pioniergeistes für die Entwicklung erstklassiger Lösungen, die Garantie industrieller Exzellenz mit Null-Fehler-Ziel und die enge Zusammenarbeit mit den Menschen unserer Communities, mit denen wir weltweit bewährte Techniken für mehr Sicherheit teilen.

Wir lieben die Berge und leben für die Berge. Als grösster Schweizer Spezialist für Bergsport bieten wir ein einmalig breites und hochwertiges Sortiment für alle alpinen Sportarten. Bei uns finden Vollblutbergsteiger, Bergbegeisterte und Einsteiger eine reiche Auswahl an Ausrüstung in unseren Filialen mit Hauptgeschäft und Outlet oder online zum fairsten Preis.

Gefällt dir unser Klettermagazin? Bei der Lancierung von LACRUX haben wir entschieden, keine Bezahlschranke (Paywall) einzuführen. Das wird auch so bleiben, denn wir möchten möglichst viele Gleichgesinnte mit News aus der Kletterszene versorgen.

Um zukünftig unabhängiger von Werbeeinnahmen zu sein und um dir noch mehr und noch bessere Inhalte zu liefern, brauchen wir deine Unterstützung.

Darum: Hilf mit und unterstütze unser Magazin mit einem kleinen Beitrag. Natürlich profitierst du mehrfach. Wie? Das erfährst du hier.

Nichts verpassen – Newsletter erhalten

* indicates required
Interessen

+++

Credits: Titelbild

Aktuell

Neuer 8000er-Speedrekord: Vadim Druelle besteigt Nanga Parbat in 15h 15 min

Der junge Franzose Vadim Druelle besteigt den Nanga Parbat in 15h 15min und unterbietet damit die bisherige Fastest Known Time um 5 Stunden.

Philipp Geisenhoff: «Das war mein bester Bouldertag bislang»

Was für ein Tag für Philipp Geisenhoff: Der starke Schweizer klettert in den Rocklands vier harte Boulder bis 8B+.

Höchster unbestiegener Berg der Welt erklommen: Gipfelerfolg am Muchu Chhish (7453m)

Den tschechischen Extrembergsteigern Zdenek Hak, Radoslav Groh und Jaroslav Bansky gelingt die Erstbesteigung des Muchu Chhish.

«Eine solide 9A»: Aidan Roberts über Arrival of the Birds

Aidan Roberts bestätigt 9A-Boulder. Wie er den Begehungsprozess von Arrival of the Birds erlebt hat und warum er die Linie mit 9A bewertet.

Newsletter

Abonniere jetzt unseren Newsletter und bleibe immer auf dem laufenden.

Neuer 8000er-Speedrekord: Vadim Druelle besteigt Nanga Parbat in 15h 15 min

Der junge Franzose Vadim Druelle besteigt den Nanga Parbat in 15h 15min und unterbietet damit die bisherige Fastest Known Time um 5 Stunden.

Philipp Geisenhoff: «Das war mein bester Bouldertag bislang»

Was für ein Tag für Philipp Geisenhoff: Der starke Schweizer klettert in den Rocklands vier harte Boulder bis 8B+.

Höchster unbestiegener Berg der Welt erklommen: Gipfelerfolg am Muchu Chhish (7453m)

Den tschechischen Extrembergsteigern Zdenek Hak, Radoslav Groh und Jaroslav Bansky gelingt die Erstbesteigung des Muchu Chhish.