Keyword: Bernd Zangerl

Rare ascent of Zangerl's Trad-Testpiece Into the Sun (8c+)

The first time Trad and then Into the Sun (8c+): Andreas Hofherr repeats the Zangerl test piece in the Murgtal.

James Pearson: “That was my craziest highball”

Hard at the limit: James Pearson repeats the infamous highball 29 dots and comes shockingly close to the limit.

Zangerl's comeback thanks to spiritual healing

Bernd Zangerl's climbing career has been anything but linear. In an interview, the bouldering pioneer reveals how a spiritual healer made his comeback possible for him in 2015, where his irrepressible passion for opening up new lines comes from, or what he understands by sustainable climbing tourism.

Will outdoor climbing become a fairground?

The fans whir, the bass booms from the loudspeakers and the blocks serve as crash pad depots. This climbing lifestyle, which many professionals celebrate in their videos and which is lived in abundance at the bouldering hotspots, is not only met with enthusiasm.

Replicas: Next Level Projecting or Heartless Performance Maximization?

In the race for the first iteration of Burden of Dreams (9A), all stops are pulled out: 3D scans, faithful replicas, pulleys for relief. Is this the future for advancing the sport of climbing? Or do replicas rob climbing of its soul? We spoke to the most important protagonists.

Bernd Zangerl has been opening a new bouldering and climbing area for decades: Rakchham in India

After thousands of hours on the mountain, years of detailed work and the goal of opening up the small village of Rakchham in the Indian Himalayas for climbers and boulderers together with the locals, Bernd Zangerl from Tyrol is ready to share his insider tip with the climbing world. For the 42-year-old pioneer of the international bouldering scene, sustainability and strengthening the region are the focus of his project.

Video: Kim Marschner climbs Forgotten Gem (8c, FA) in Chironico

The strong German Kim Marschner managed the first ascent of Forgotten Gem (8c) in February. Now there's the video for it. The line is the famous diamond project by Bernd Zangerl and Thomas Steinbrugger in Chironico.

Interview: Bernd Zangerl opens Highball-Boulder Grenzlos in Valle Dell'Orco

Bernd Zangerl succeeds in the first ascent of the 10 meter high Boulder Grenzlos (approx. 8a +) in the Valle Dell'Orco.

Newsletter

News

×Display Ads_350 90_Purja
×Display Ads_350 90_Purja

Schlagwort: Bernd Zangerl

Lukas Mayerhofer erweitert Zangerl-Testpiece: Anam Cara low (8C)

Der österreichische Boulderer Lukas Mayerhofer eröffnet einen Low-Start zum Zangerl-Testpiece Anam Cara: Anam Cara low (8C).

Seltene Begehung von Zangerl’s Trad-Testpiece Into the Sun (8c+)

Das erste Mal Trad und dann gleich Into the Sun (8c+): Andreas Hofherr wiederholt das Zangerl-Testpiece im Murgtal.

James Pearson: «Das war mein krassester Highball»

Hart am Limit: James Pearson wiederholt den berüchtigten Highball 29 Dots und kommt dabei erschreckend Nahe ans Limit.

Zangerls Comeback dank spiritueller Heilung

Die Kletterkarriere von Bernd Zangerl ist alles andere als linear verlaufen. Im Interview verrät der Boulderpionier, wie ihm 2015 ein spiritueller Heiler sein Comeback ermöglichte, woher seine unbändige Leidenschaft fürs Erschliessen neuer Linien rührt oder was er unter nachhaltigem Klettertourismus versteht.

Wird das Outdoorklettern zum Rummelplatz?

Die Ventilatoren surren, aus den Lautsprechern wummern die Bässe und die Blöcke dienen als Crashpad-Depot. Dieser Kletter-Lifestyle, den viele Profis in ihren Videos zelebrieren und der an den Boulder-Hotspots zuhauf nachgelebt wird, stösst nicht nur auf Begeisterung.

Replikas: Next Level Projecting oder herzlose Leistungs-Maximierung?

Im Rennen um die erste Wiederholung von Burden of Dreams (9A) werden sämtliche Register gezogen: 3D-Scans, originalgetreue Replikas, Flaschenzüge zur Entlastung. Ist dies die Zukunft, um den Klettersport weiterzubringen? Oder rauben Replikas dem Klettern die Seele? Wir haben mit den wichtigsten Protagonisten gesprochen.

Bernd Zangerl eröffnet über Jahrzehnte neues Boulder- und Klettergebiet: Rakchham in Indien

Nach tausenden Stunden am Berg, jahrelanger Detailarbeit und dem Ziel, gemeinsam mit den Einheimischen das kleine Dorf Rakchham im indischen Himalaya für Kletterer und Boulderer zu erschließen, ist der Tiroler Bernd Zangerl bereit, seinen Geheimtipp mit der Kletterwelt zu teilen. Nachhaltigkeit und Stärkung der Region stehen für den 42-jährigen Pionier der internationalen Boulderszene im Mittelpunkt seines Projekts.

Video: Kim Marschner klettert Forgotten Gem (8c, FA) in Chironico

Dem starken Deutschen Kim Marschner gelang im Februar die Erstbegehung von Forgotten Gem (8c). Jetzt gibts das Video dazu. Bei der Linie handelt es sich das berühmte Diamantenprojekt von Bernd Zangerl und Thomas Steinbrugger in Chironico.

Newsletter

Aktuell