Keyword: Himalayas

Historical: Expedition team reaches Cho Oyu from the Nepalese side

A 7-person team led by Gelje Sherpa climbed Cho Oyu via a new route on the extremely difficult Nepalese side.

Alpine style: New route through the west face of Hungchi (7029m)

The two alpinists Charles Dubouloz and Symon Welfringer made an impressive first ascent in alpine style on the 7000m Hungchi.

Piotr Krzyzowski climbs Lhotse and Everest without artificial oxygen

8000 meter double climb in style: The Pole Piotr Krzyzowski climbs Lhotse and Everest without bottled oxygen in under 48 hours.

Marek Holeček: “The safety devices would hardly have held a serious fall”

On May 23, 2023, Marek Holeček and Matěj Bernát made the first ascent of the north-west face of the six-thousander Sura Peak in Nepal. The two Czechs completed the route in alpine style within four days. They rate their 1500-meter-long route called Simply Beautiful, which has a gradient of up to 90 degrees in some places, with an M6.

High-altitude climber Luis Stitzinger dies on Kangchenjunga

The German extreme mountaineer and mountain guide Luis Stitzinger has had an accident on Kangchenjunga. The 54-year-old had reached the summit of the third highest mountain in the world last Thursday afternoon and sent a last radio message around 21 p.m. - he has been missing since then.

«What Harila does is announcement mountaineering at its finest»

With the establishment of mountain tourism on most of the eight-thousanders and all of the Seven Summits plus a few other mountains, the required alpinistic skills have been reduced to almost zero. By alpine skills I mean independent climbing, acting and making decisions on the mountain. Everything that used to be required on these mountains has now largely become superfluous thanks to the technical infrastructure on the mountain. It is enough if you learn to walk with crampons in the base camp and to attach yourself correctly to the fixed rope.

World record: Harila climbs all 8000m peaks in 370 days

Kristin Harila has climbed her 14th eight-thousander with Cho Oyu in Tibet. With a time of one year and five days, the Norwegian is currently the fastest woman on the highest mountains in the world. Depending on the interpretation, she even beats record holder Nirmal Purja.

High-altitude climber Simone Moro in an interview

In an interview with Claus Lochbihler, Simone Moro talks about the cold, the advantage of short fingers and what draws him to the highest mountains in the world in winter.

Newsletter

News

Schlagwort: Himalaya

Historisch: Expeditions-Team erreicht Cho Oyu von nepalesischer Seite aus

Ein 7-köpfiges Team um Gelje Sherpa hat den Cho Oyu über eine neue Route auf der extrem schwierigen nepalesischen Seite bestiegen.

Im Alpinstil: Neue Route durch die Westwand des Hungchi (7029m)

Die beiden Alpinisten Charles Dubouloz und Symon Welfringer realisieren am 7000er Hungchi eine beeindruckende Erstbegehung im Alpinstil.

Piotr Krzyzowski besteigt Lhotse und Everest ohne künstlichen Sauerstoff

8000er Doppelbesteigung mit Stil: Der Pole Piotr Krzyzowski besteigt Lhotse und Everest ohne Flaschensauerstoff in unter 48 Stunden.

Marek Holeček: «Einen ernsthaften Sturz hätten die Sicherungen kaum gehalten»

Am 23. Mai 2023 gelang Marek Holeček und Matěj Bernát die Erstbesteigung der Nordwestwand des Sechstausenders Sura Peak in Nepal. Die beiden Tschechen bewältigten die Route innerhalb von vier Tagen im Alpinstil. Ihre 1500 Meter lange Route namens Simply Beautiful, die an einigen Stellen eine Neigung von bis zu 90 Grad aufweist, bewerten sie mit M6.

Höhenbergsteiger Luis Stitzinger stirbt am Kangchenjunga

Der deutsche Extrembergsteiger und Bergführer Luis Stitzinger ist am Kangchenjunga verunglückt. Der 54-Jährige hatte am vergangenen Donnerstagnachmittag den Gipfel des dritthöchsten Berges der Welt erreicht und gegen 21 Uhr einen letzten Funkspruch abgesetzt - seither galt er als vermisst.

«Was Harila macht, ist Ankündigungsalpinismus vom Feinsten»

Mit der Etablierung des Bergtourismus an den meisten Achttausendern und allen Seven Summits plus ein paar anderen Bergen, hat sich das geforderte alpinistische Können gegen Null reduziert. Mit alpinistischem Können meine ich selbständiges Klettern, Handeln und Entscheiden am Berg. Alles was früher an diesen Bergen gefordert war, ist heute dank technischer Infrastruktur am Berg weitgehend überflüssig geworden. Es reicht, wenn man im Basislager lernt mit Steigeisen zu gehen und sich am Fixseil richtig einzuhängen.

Weltrekord: Harila besteigt alle 8000er in 370 Tagen

Kristin Harila hat mit dem Cho Oyu in Tibet ihren 14. Achttausender bestiegen. Mit ihrer Zeit von einem Jahr und fünf Tagen ist die Norwegerin aktuell die schnellste Frau an den höchsten Bergen der Welt. Je nach Auslegung schlägt sie damit sogar Rekordhalter Nirmal Purja.

Höhenbergsteiger Simone Moro im Interview

Im Gespräch mit Claus Lochbihler spricht Simone Moro über Kälte, den Vorteil kurzer Finger und darüber, was ihn im Winter auf die höchsten Berge der Welt zieht.

Newsletter

Aktuell