The debate about Kneepads for climbing has been going on for a long time. In the recent past, more and more professionals have expressed themselves on the subject, including Alexander Megos, Adam Ondra and Edu Marin. Do Kneepads change the level of difficulty? Does a special assessment have to be introduced? We summarize.

Kneepads are rubberized padding that is attached to the thigh / knee with straps. For a long time, the American manufacturer 5.10 was the absolute top dog with its Kneepads. Since the sale of the brand to Adidas, no more Kneepads of 5.10 have been produced, the place in the Kneepad market has been dominated by the Send Climbing brand from Hueca, USA.

No longer a marginal phenomenon

The first Kneepads appeared in the United States in the 90s, but they were marginal and mostly “in-house” brands. That changed with the Kneepads from brands like 5.10 and Send Climbing. Much has changed in the 30 years of climbing, and more and more professional athletes can be seen bouldering and route climbing with Kneepads.

Knee clamps: old technology artificially improved

The climbing technique that kneepads are used for is knee clamps. In doing so, your knee and foot are jammed between two rock structures. With shorts or pants made of thin fabric, a knee clamp can be quite uncomfortable or even painful. And this is where the Kneepads come into play. Kneepads make knee clamps more comfortable and the rubber coating also makes knee clamps hold better.

This advancement in climbing, comparable to the development of tear gloves, is in itself not a bad thing. However, the question arises: do Kneepads change the level of difficulty of a route or a boulder? Do you need a separate evaluation in the case of an inspection with a Kneepad?

Adam Ondra in the knee clamp of the route Beginning in Arco (picture Giampaolo Calza)
Adam Ondra in the knee clamp of the route Beginning in Arco (picture Giampaolo Calza)

That's what Edu Marin, Alex Megos and Adam Ondra say

The Spanish professional climber Edu Marin made an explicit statement on this topic a year ago.

When I climb a route with a kneepad, I do a different route because the movements are different and there are possible resting points that are not possible without a kneepad.

Edu Marin

In 2020 Edu Marin has set himself the goal of being able to climb a 9b route red point. As a 9b project, Edu has the route Stoking the Fire made that Chris Sharma First climbed in 2013 - without a Kneepad.

Edu Marin is locked in a knee clamp. (Boild Esteban Lahoz)
Edu Marin is locked in a knee clamp. (Boild Esteban Lahoz)

If we use Kneepads in a route that was first climbed without a Kneepad, it is very likely that new resting points will be found or that climbing moves will become easier.

Edu Marin

For Edu Marin one thing is clear: sport climbing is about mastering a certain level of difficulty, among other things. And for him, Kneepads are clear “game changers”. So if you climb a route with a Kneepad, you have to rate it if the route becomes easier and must not claim the same level of difficulty. Edu Marin even goes so far that he suggests a separate assessment. In his opinion, routes should be rated with, for example, “9a + KP” or “9b without KP”.

Alexander Megos: The “how” is of central importance

The opinion of also goes in a similar direction Alexander Megos.. He wrote in December 2020 in connection with the boulder The Story of two Worlds on the topic of climbing ethics. The boulder was originally climbed without Kneepads - today, however, mostly with Kneepads, with correspondingly different movements.

I have the impression that the climbing community makes no difference how a line was climbed. In climbing - especially in bouldering - the “how” is of central importance.

Alexander Megos.

Even if Alexander Megos rarely climbs with Kneepads, he is not a total Kneepad refuser. Like Edu Marin, Alexander Megos' kneepads are part of the further development of the sport.

Alexander Megos climbed The Story of Two Worlds without a kneepad. (Picture
Alexander Megos climbed The Story of Two Worlds without a kneepad. (Picture

However, both are of the opinion that when walking a route you have to say whether you have scored with or without Kneepads and demand that you be honest with yourself with the evaluation. About the fall of the boulder The story of two worlds says Alex Megos:

One climber (Dai Koyamada) started lower than all the others and climbed without a kneepad. Nevertheless, all of them claim the degree 8c for themselves? It's very strange.

Alexander Megos.

Adam Ondra: Skin on knee prepared with sandpaper

Adam Ondra, as he explains in an article on his website, has climbed wearing shorts for many years and only carefully knee clamps during the first few days of a climbing trip to make the skin in the area harder. In some cases he has even treated his knees and thighs with sandpaper to encourage callus formation, as many climbers do with their fingers.

In the recent past Adam Ondra however, Kneepads are being used more and more frequently for climbing. The world's first 9c route, Silence, Adam Ondra climbed with Kneepads. In some bouldering lines it worked specifically on knee clamp positions in order to rest longer and was thus able to climb the line at all. A look at Adam's numerous inspections in 2020 shows that he refined and increasingly perfected knee clamp technique.

Here the ascent of the boulder stands or falls with the success of a knee clamp

What does this knee clamp and kneepad specialist say about the evaluation of routes and bouldering?

With Kneepads you can do knee clamps in places where knee clamps are not possible with bare skin or with pants. This can significantly change the difficulty of routes.

Adam Ondra

Adam Ondra emphasizes that he regards Kneepads as a further development of the sport, just like climbing shoes or magnesium were (are).

Climbing shoes have developed significantly over the past decades

But Adam also says clearly that Kneepads make it difficult to consistently evaluate climbing routes. For example, in cases where smaller climbers - due to their shorter legs - cannot do a knee clamp, but larger climbers can.

In my opinion, classic and older routes such as Ben Moon's Hubble only count if they are climbed in the same way as the first ascent - i.e. without a Kneepad. Because in 1990 Ben Moon was not familiar with the technique of the Kneepads.

Adam Ondra

In the conclusion of his article, Adam Ondra basically agrees with Alexander Megos' vote: Nowadays, professional climbers should not simply claim an ascent, but also say how the route was climbed. In addition, professional climbers should not just take the level of difficulty from the climbing guide, but also incorporate factors such as the use of kneepads, new solutions in a route, etc. into their assessment.

Conclusion: Kneepads have an impact and professionals have to be transparent

Other important voices have also already expressed themselves on the subject of the Kneepads. Even if the statements differ in their clarity, most of them agree on the following points:

  • Kneepads are a further development in climbing
  • Kneepads have - in many cases - an influence on the level of difficulty
  • Climbers must communicate transparently whether they have climbed a route with or without a kneepad
  • Climbers should be honest with themselves and sometimes devalue a route or boulder if it is easier to climb with a Kneepad.

That might interest you

+ + +
Credits: Cover picture Esteban Lahoz

Die Debatte um Kneepads beim Klettern wird schon seit längerer Zeit geführt. In jüngster Vergangenheit äussern sich immer mehr Profis zum Thema, darunter Alexander Megos, Adam Ondra sowie Edu Marin. Verändern Kneepads den Schwierigkeitsgrad? Muss eine spezielle Bewertung eingeführt werden? Wir fassen zusammen.

Kneepads sind gummierte Polsterungen, die im Bereich des Oberschenkels/Knies mittels Gurten befestigt werden. Lange war der amerikanische Hersteller 5.10 mit seinen Kneepads der absolute Platzhirsch. Seit dem Verkauf der Marke an Adidas werden keine Kneepads von 5.10 mehr hergestellt, den Platz im Kneepad-Markt dominiert seither die Marke Send Climbing aus Hueca, USA.

Keine Randerscheinung mehr

In den 90er-Jahren tauchten die ersten Kneepads in den Vereinigten Staaten auf, waren aber eine Randerscheinung und meist “Marke Eigenfabrikat”. Dies änderte sich mit den Kneepads von Marken wie 5.10 und Send Climbing. In den 30 Jahren Klettergeschehen hat sich vieles verändert und so sind immer mehr Profisportler beim Bouldern und Routenklettern mit Kneepads zu sehen.

Knieklemmer: Alte Technik künstlich verbessert

Die Klettertechnik, für die Kneepads verwendet werden, sind Knieklemmer. Dabei verklemmt man quasi das Knie und den Fuss zwischen zwei Felsstrukturen. Mit kurzen Hosen oder Hosen mit dünnem Stoff kann ein Knieklemmer ganz schön unangenehm oder gar schmerzhaft sein. Und hier kommen die Kneepads ins Spiel. Kneepads machen Knieklemmer angenehmer und durch die Gummierung hält ein Knieklemmer auch besser.

Diese Weiterentwicklung im Klettersport, vergleichbar mit der Entwicklung von Risshandschuhen, ist an sich nichts Schlechtes. Es stellt sich jedoch die Frage: Verändern Kneepads den Schwierigkeitsgrad einer Route oder eines Boulders? Braucht es eine gesonderte Bewertung im Falle einer Begehung mit einem Kneepad?

Adam Ondra im Knieklemmer der Route Beginning in Arco (Bild Giampaolo Calza)
Adam Ondra im Knieklemmer der Route Beginning in Arco (Bild Giampaolo Calza)

Das sagen Edu Marin, Alex Megos und Adam Ondra

Der spanische Profikletterer Edu Marin hat sich bereits vor einem Jahr explizit zu diesem Thema geäussert.

Wenn ich eine Route mit einem Kneepad klettere, dann mache ich eine andere Route, weil die Bewegungen anders sind und es mögliche Ruhepunkte gibt, die ohne Kneepad nicht möglich sind.

Edu Marin

Im Jahr 2020 hat sich Edu Marin zum Ziel gesetzt, eine 9b-Route rotpunkt klettern zu können. Als 9b-Projekt hat sich Edu die Route Stoking the Fire vorgenommen, die Chris Sharma 2013 erstbegangen hat – ohne Kneepad.

Edu Marin rastet in einem Knieklemmer. (Boild Esteban Lahoz)
Edu Marin rastet in einem Knieklemmer. (Boild Esteban Lahoz)

Wenn wir Kneepads in einer Route verwenden, die ohne Kneepad erstbegangen wurde, so ist es sehr wahrscheinlich, dass neue Ruhepunkte gefunden werden oder Kletterzüge einfacher werden.

Edu Marin

Für Edu Marin ist klar: Beim Sportklettern geht es unter anderem darum, einen gewissen Schwierigkeitsgrad zu meistern. Und für ihn sind Kneepads klare “Game-Changer”. Wer also eine Route mit Kneepad klettert, muss diese, falls die Route einfacher wird, auch so bewerten und darf nicht denselben Schwierigkeitsgrad für sich beanspruchen. Edu Marin geht sogar so weit, dass er eine gesonderte Bewertung vorschlägt. Seiner Meinung nach sollten Routen mit beispielsweise “9a+ KP” respektive “9b without KP” bewertet werden.

Alexander Megos: Das “wie” ist von zentraler Bedeutung

In die ähnliche Richtung geht auch die Meinung von Alexander Megos. Er hat sich im Dezember 2020 im Zusammenhang mit dem Boulder The Story of two Worlds zum Thema Kletterethik geäussert. Der Boulder wurde ursprünglich ohne Kneepads begangen – heute meist jedoch mit Kneepads, mit entsprechend anderen Bewegungen.

Ich habe den Eindruck, die Klettercommunity mache keinen Unterschied, wie eine Linie geklettert wurde. Beim Klettern – besonders beim Bouldern – ist das “wie” jedoch von zentraler Bedeutung.

Alexander Megos

Auch wenn Alexander Megos selten mit Kneepads klettert, so ist er kein totaler Kneepad-Verweigerer. Wie auch Edu Marin sind Kneepads für Alexander Megos Teil der Weiterentwicklung des Sports.

Alexander Megos kletterte The Story of Two Worlds ohne Kneepad. (Bild
Alexander Megos kletterte The Story of Two Worlds ohne Kneepad. (Bild

Beide sind sind aber der Meinung, dass bei der Begehung einer Route gesagt werden muss, ob sie mit oder ohne Kneepads gepunktet wurde und fordern, dass man mit der Bewertung ehrlich mit sich selbst ist. Zum Fall des Boulders The Story of two Worlds meint Alex Megos:

Ein Kletterer (Dai Koyamada) startete weiter unten als all die anderen und kletterte ohne Kneepad. Trotzdem beanspruchen alle den Grad 8c für sich? Das ist sehr befremdend.

Alexander Megos

Adam Ondra: Haut an Knie mit Schleifpapier vorbereitet

Adam Ondra hat, wie er in einem Artikel auf seiner Website erklärt, während vielen Jahren mit kurzen Hosen geklettert und während den ersten Tagen eines Klettertrips nur vorsichtig Knieklemmer gemacht, damit die Haut in dem Bereich härter wird. In einigen Fällen hat er gar seine Knie und Oberschenkel mit Schleifpapier behandelt, um die Hornhautbildung zu fördern, so wie dies viele Kletterinnen und Kletterer mit den Fingern machen.

In jüngster Vergangenheit hat Adam Ondra jedoch immer häufiger Kneepads beim Klettern eingesetzt. Die erste 9c-Route der Welt, Silence, hat Adam Ondra mit Kneepads geklettert. In einigen Boulderlinien hat es spezifisch an Knieklemmer-Positionen getüftelt, um länger zu rasten und hat damit die Linie überhaupt klettern können. Ein Blick auf zahlreiche Begehungen Adams aus dem Jahr 2020 zeigen, dass er Knieklemmer-Technik verfeinert und zunehmend perfektioniert hat.

Hier steht und fällt die Begehung des Boulders mit dem Erfolg eines Knieklemmers

Was sagt denn nun dieser Knieklemmer und Kneepad-Spezialist zur Thematik der Bewertung von Routen und Bouldern?

Mit Kneepads kannst du Knieklemmer an Stellen machen, an denen mit der blanken Haut oder mit Hosen kein Knieklemmer möglich ist. Das kann den Schwierigkeitsgrad von Routen signifikant verändern.

Adam Ondra

Adam Ondra betont, dass er Kneepads als Weiterentwicklung des Sports betrachtet, so wie es die Kletterschuhe oder Magnesium auch waren (sind).

Kletterschuhe haben sich in den vergangenen Jahrzehnten stark weiterentwickelt

Adam sagt aber auch deutlich, dass Kneepads die konsistente Bewertung von Kletterrouten erschwert. So zum Beispiel in Fällen, in denen kleinere Kletterer – aufgrund ihrer kürzeren Beine – keinen Knieklemmer machen können, Grössere jedoch schon.

Klassische und ältere Routen wie beispielsweise Hubble von Ben Moon, zählen meiner Meinung nach nur, wenn sie so geklettert werden, wie bei der Erstbegehung – also ohne Kneepad. Denn im Jahr 1990 war Ben Moon die Technik der Kneepads nicht bekannt.

Adam Ondra

Adam Ondra schliesst sich im Fazit seines Artikels im Grunde genommen dem Votum von Alexander Megos an: Profikletterer sollten heutzutage nicht einfach eine Begehung für sich beanspruchen, sondern auch sagen, wie die Route geklettert wurde. Zudem sollten Profikletterinnen und Profikletterer nicht nur einfach den Schwierigkeitsgrad aus dem Kletterführer übernehmen, sondern Faktoren wie die Verwendung von Kneepads, neue Lösungen in einer Route, etc. in ihre Bewertung einfliessen lassen.

Fazit: Kneepads haben Einfluss und Profis müssen transparent sein

Auch weitere gewichtige Stimmen haben sich zur Thematik der Kneepads bereits geäussert. Auch wenn die Äusserungen in ihrer Deutlichkeit teilweise auseinandergehen, sind sich die meisten in folgenden Punkten einig:

  • Kneepads sind eine Weiterentwicklung des Klettersports
  • Kneepads haben – in vielen Fällen – einen Einfluss auf den Schwierigkeitsgrad
  • Kletterinnen und Kletterer müssen transparent kommunizieren, ob sie eine Route mit oder ohne Kneepad begangen haben
  • Kletterinnen und Kletterer sollen ehrlich mit sich selbst sein und eine Route oder einen Boulder auch mal abwerten, wenn sie durch ein Kneepad einfacher zu klettern ist.

Das könnte dich interessieren

+++
Credits: Titelbild Esteban Lahoz